How to File For Divorce in Washington
howtofilefordivorce.org
 
filing for divorce
divorce
how to file for divorce

- OFFICIAL -

HOW TO FILE FOR DIVORCE IN WASHINGTON

- STEP BY STEP GUIDE -

STEP 1 - 2 ways to download the required Washington divorce papers:

Option A - BLANK WASHINGTON DIVORCE PAPERS

Option B - HAVE DIVORCE PAPERS FILLED IN FOR YOU!

  • $299 Professional Service

STEP 2 - To start filling out the forms, the spouses should meet with one another in order to fill out the following forms:

  • Domestic Cover Sheet (*leave blank the 'Attorney Information Section)
  • Confidential Information
  • Petition for Dissolution of Marriage (Sign 'Joinder' section)
  • Financial Declaration
  • Sealed Financial Source Document
  • Parenting Plan (*if you have children)
  • Child Support Worksheet (*if you have children)

You may want to call the clerk to see what the filing fee is for your county before you file the forms with the Court Clerk's office in the County where you are a resident. See List.

STEP 3 - You must SERVE your spouse (You can serve by simple standard mail) of the filing by sending copies of the filed documents (above) as well as the ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE form which must be completed and signed by your spouse and returned to you.

VIDEO TUTORIAL

 

REQUIREMENTS

  • Either party must be a resident of Washington.
  • The most common reason for divorce is 'Irreconcilable Differences'

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE?

  • A divorce in Washington takes a minimum of 3 months

STEP 4 - When you go to the clerk's office to file the Acceptance of Service, you will be allowed to make a court hearing date. You will have to make the date at least 90 days from the date you filed all the divorce forms in Step 2.

STEP 5 - You can now schedule a court hearing date over the phone with the clerk. You will be given a date and you will need to notify your spouse of the time and day.

Be sure to complete the following forms:

  • Order of Child Support (*if you have children)
  • Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
  • Decree of Dissolution of Marriage

STEP 6 - Go to your court hearing bringing all the filed and completed documents. If the Judge sees fit that you have completed all the necessary steps then your Decree will be signed. File the Decree with the clerk and the divorce process is complete in the State of Washington.

*NAME CHANGE - If you are seeking to change your name after divorce in Washington go here.

Terms & Conditions

HowtoFileForDivorce.org provides information and Documents only.
This site is not a "lawyer referral service" and does not provide or participate in any legal representation.