How to File For Divorce in Utah
howtofilefordivorce.org
 
filing for divorce
divorce
how to file for divorce

- OFFICIAL -

HOW TO FILE FOR DIVORCE IN UTAH

- STEP BY STEP GUIDE -

STEP 1 - 2 ways to download the required Utah divorce papers:

Option A - BLANK UTAH DIVORCE PAPERS

Option B - HAVE DIVORCE PAPERS FILLED IN FOR YOU!

  • $299 Professional Service

STEP 2 - The Spouse that has decided to file for divorce must complete the following forms:

  • Utah Civil Cover Sheet
  • Certificate of Divorce
  • Petition for Dissolution of Marriage

STEP 3 - At this time both spouses should meet and agree to the separation of assets and debts. This should be agreed in writing by completing the Utah Separation and Property Settlement Agreement.

STEP 4 - The spouse that is filing for divorce must bring the following forms (as well as 3 copies) to the clerk's office:

  • Utah Civil Cover Sheet
  • Certificate of Divorce
  • Petition for Dissolution of Marriage
  • Utah Separation and Property Settlement Agreement
  • Pay $310 filing fee.

- VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS -

 

REQUIREMENTS

  • Either party must be a resident for at least 3 months.
  • The main cause for divorce is 'irreconcilable differences'

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE?

  • A divorce in Utah takes a minimum of 4 months.

STEP 5 - After successful filing, you will need to provide copies of all the above filed forms as well as the Acceptance of Service, Appearance, Consent and Waiver.

STEP 6 - You will need to get your spouse to sign the Acceptance of Service, Appearance, Consent and Waiver to sign in front of a public notary and have it returned to you so you can file it with the clerk's office.

*If you have children you need to speak with the clerk about going to a parental divorce education class. This is required before going into your final hearing and upon completion you will receive a certificate that you will need to keep.

STEP 7 - You will need to meet with your spouse to complete the following divorce papers:

  • Motion for Entry of Default Certificate
  • Divorce Default Certificate
  • Petitioner Affidavit of Jurisdiction and Grounds for Divorce
  • Child Support Obligation Worksheet (only have to fill out the one that best serves you of the 3)
  • Affidavit of Income Verification and Compliance with Child Support Guidelines
  • Child Support Obligation Required Location Information
  • Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
  • Utah Divorce Decree
  • Notice to Submit for Entry of Decree of Divorce

Submit all of these forms to the clerk and provide a copy of the submitted forms to your spouse. At this time you will be granted a court hearing date.

STEP 8 - Bring copies of all filed documents with you to the court on the hearing date. Upon successful completion of all the forms the Judge will authorize your Divorce Decree which will make your divorce complete in the State of Utah.

 

Terms & Conditions

HowtoFileForDivorce.org provides information and Documents only.
This site is not a "lawyer referral service" and does not provide or participate in any legal representation.