How to File For Divorce in Rhode Island
howtofilefordivorce.org
 
filing for divorce
divorce
how to file for divorce

- OFFICIAL -

HOW TO FILE FOR DIVORCE IN RHODE ISLAND

- STEP BY STEP GUIDE -

STEP 1 - 2 ways to download the required Rhode Island divorce papers:

Option A - BLANK RHODE ISLAND DIVORCE PAPERS

Option B - HAVE DIVORCE PAPERS FILLED IN FOR YOU!

  • $299 Professional Service

STEP 2 - Get your original Marriage Certificate.

STEP 3 - The Spouse that has decided to file for divorce must complete the following forms:

  • Divorce Petition
  • Information Sheet
  • Vital Statistics Form
  • Request For Notice Form

STEP 4 - You must meet with your spouse at this time in order to fill out and have notarized the following forms:

  • Affidavit of Children's Rights
  • Separation Agreement
  • Stipulation to Incorporate the Separation Agreement
  • Request For Notice Form

You must pay the filing fee which can range anywhere from $100 to $150 depending on the county you reside.

VIDEO TUTORIAL

 

REQUIREMENTS

  • Either party must be a resident for at least 6 months.
  • The popular cause for divorce is 'Voluntary Separation'.
  • Both spouses must be separated for at least 6 months.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE?

  • A divorce in Rhode Island takes a minimum of 4 months

*IF YOU HAVE MINOR CHILDREN -  You and your spouse must attend child education classes. You will need to ask the clerk for the credited courses and upon completion you will receive a certification that you will need to proceed to the next step.

*IF YOUR SPOUSE IS IN THE MILITARY -  You will have to complete and file the Waiver of Rights under the Service Members Relief Act.

Where to File?

  • Kent County - Resource Center on 1st floor of Family Court Building
  • New Castle County - Resource Center on 1st floor of the New Castle County Courthouse Building
  • Sussex County - Resource Center on 1st floor of Family Court Building

STEP 5 - You will receive notification in the mail of your papers being trial ready.

If you feel that you would like to move ahead without a trial, you must complete the Request to proceed Without a Hearing and Affidavit in Support of the Request to Proceed Without a Hearing forms and submit it to the clerk within 20 days of receiving the notice in the mail.

Be sure to attach the Notice of Trial Readiness to the Request to proceed Without a Hearing.

STEP 6 - If you were successfully able to get by without a hearing - Then you will be mailed your signed Divorce Decree.

With a hearing - You and your spouse will receive a Notice of Hearing in the mail. You will need to attend your hearing with all your filed forms. If the Judge sees that you in fact followed the steps correctly then the Judge will authorize your divorce decree.

At this time, in the State of Rhode Island, your divorce is complete.

Helpful Resource - Rhode Island Step By Step Packet

*NAME CHANGE - If you are seeking to change your name after divorce in Rhode Island here are instructions.

 

Terms & Conditions

HowtoFileForDivorce.org provides information and Documents only.
This site is not a "lawyer referral service" and does not provide or participate in any legal representation.