How to File For Divorce in New Hampshire
howtofilefordivorce.org
 
filing for divorce
divorce
how to file for divorce

- OFFICIAL -

HOW TO FILE FOR DIVORCE IN NEW HAMPSHIRE

- STEP BY STEP GUIDE -

STEP 1 - 2 ways to download the required New Hampshire divorce papers:

Option A - BLANK NEW HAMPSHIRE DIVORCE PAPERS

Option B - HAVE DIVORCE PAPERS FILLED IN FOR YOU!

  • $299 Professional Service

*If you have minor children - The first step of the divorce process in New Hampshire is to go to an Approved parental education class that teaches both parents how to deal with their children and the divorce. See the State approved list here.

STEP 2 - You must meet with your spouse to complete the following forms:

  • Personal Data Sheet
  • Financial Affidavit
  • Uniform Support Order (*if you have minor children)
  • Joint Petition for Divorce (*for jointly petitioning the court)
  • Petition for Divorce (*if only one person is able to petition the court)
  • Final Decree of Dissolution of Marriage

STEP 3 - File the above listed forms with the court clerk's office and pay the divorce filing fee listed here. You and your spouse will be notified of your court hearing date.

*If you did not file a Joint Petition for Divorce then you will have to wait until you receive the papers back from the clerk in order to go to the next step.

When you receive the papers back from the clerk's office one will be filed 'Serve'. You will need to hire a local process server here in order to get a Return of Service form which you will need to file with the clerk's office. After doing this, you will directed to a first appearance and the mediation process will start.

VIDEO TUTORIAL

 

REQUIREMENTS

  • Either party must be a resident for 12 months.
  • The only cause for divorce is 'Irretrievable Breakdown of the marriage with no likelihood of reconciliation'.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE?

  • A divorce in New Hampshire takes a minimum of 4 months

STEP 4 - Go to your court hearing with at least 4 copies of all your filed and completed forms. If you have completed all the forms and steps successfully, you will be presented with an authorized Final Decree of Dissolution of Marriage which will complete the divorce process in New Hampshire.

  • Findings of Fact
  • Conclusions of Law
  • Final Decree of Dissolution

*NAME CHANGE - If you are seeking to change your name after divorce in New Hampshire here is a free instructional guide.

 

Terms & Conditions

HowtoFileForDivorce.org provides information and Documents only.
This site is not a "lawyer referral service" and does not provide or participate in any legal representation.