How to File For Divorce in Montana
howtofilefordivorce.org
 
filing for divorce
divorce
how to file for divorce

- OFFICIAL -

HOW TO FILE FOR DIVORCE IN MONTANA

- STEP BY STEP GUIDE -

STEP 1 - 2 ways to download the required Montana divorce papers:

Option A - BLANK MONTANA DIVORCE PAPERS

Option B - HAVE DIVORCE PAPERS FILLED IN FOR YOU!

  • $299 Professional Service

STEP 2 - The spouses will need to get together to fill out the following forms and file them at the court clerk's office in the county where you reside:

  • Joint Petition for Dissolution
  • Parenting Plan
  • Final Declaration of Disclosure of Assets, Debts, Income and Expenses
  • Child Support Guidelines Financial Affidavit
  • Notice of Filing Child Support Guidelines Financial Affidavit
  • Pay filing $245 fee with the court. (Always double check with your court clerk's office)

*IF YOU ARE COLLECTING PUBLIC ASSISTANCE: You must send the Notice and Acknowledgment to the CSED and Attorney General's office. You may not proceed until you have received an Acknowledgment Form from both offices.

STEP 3 - You are now ready to make a court hearing date. Fill out the Request for Hearing and Order and file the form with the clerk's office.

*IF YOUR SPOUSE IS NOT ATTENDING THE HEARING - You will need to have him or her authorize the Consent to Entry of Decree and file it wit the clerk's office at the same time of filing the Request for Hearing form.

VIDEO TUTORIAL

 

REQUIREMENTS

  • Either party must be a resident for 3 months.
  • The only cause for divorce is 'Irretrievable Breakdown of the marriage with no likelihood of reconciliation'.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE?

  • A divorce in Montana takes a minimum of 6 months

STEP 4 - You should meet with your spouse to fill out the following forms and file them with the clerk's office:

  • Findings of Fact
  • Conclusions of Law
  • Final Decree of Dissolution

STEP 5 - Go to your assigned court hearing date with copies of all the forms that have been filed with the clerk's office. If you have completed all the necessary steps, the Judge will sign your Final Decree of Dissolution.

Complete the Notice of Entry of Decree and file this form with the clerk. You will be given a copy which then should be sent to your spouse along with the Final Decree of Dissolution and the Parenting Plan.

Your divorce is now complete in the State of Montana.

*NAME CHANGE - If you are seeking to change your name after divorce in Montana here is a free guide.

 

Terms & Conditions

HowtoFileForDivorce.org provides information and Documents only.
This site is not a "lawyer referral service" and does not provide or participate in any legal representation.