How to File For Divorce in Illinois
howtofilefordivorce.org
 
filing for divorce
divorce
how to file for divorce

- OFFICIAL -

HOW TO FILE FOR DIVORCE IN ILLINOIS

- STEP BY STEP GUIDE -

STEP 1 - 2 ways to download the required Illinois divorce papers:

Option A - BLANK ILLINOIS DIVORCE PAPERS

Option B - HAVE DIVORCE PAPERS FILLED IN FOR YOU!

  • $299 Professional Service

STEP 2 - The Spouse that has decided to file for divorce must complete the following forms and be sure to have them filed with the Court Clerk's Office in the County where you reside and pay the $223 (Always double-check with court) filing fee:

  • Domestic Relations Cover Sheet
  • Divorce Petition
  • Disclosure Statement
  • 2-Year Period of Separation Waiver
  • Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act
  • Affidavit of Military Service

STEP 3 - You must inform your spouse of the filing by sending copies of the filed documents (above) along with the following forms:

  • Notice and Acknowledgement of Receipt of Summons
  • Waiver of Process

Your spouse must complete and sign these 2 forms as well as file them with the county court clerk's office.

STEP 4 - You will have to negotiate the terms of the assets and debts the both of you have by jointly filling out and completing the following forms together.

VIDEO TUTORIAL

 

REQUIREMENTS

  • Either party must be a resident of Illinois for at leasst 3 months.
  • Both spouses must be separated or at least 6 months which means they are no longer living at the same address.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE?

  • A divorce in Illinois takes a minimum of 6-8 months
  • Joint Parenting Agreement
  • Martial Settlement Agreement (Attach this form to the 'Judgment')
  • Judgment (Make sure to have the 'Marital Settlement Agreement' Attached)
  • Joint Parenting Agreement (if children)

STEP 5 - File the documents with the clerk's office and you will be allowed at this time to make a court date. After you have been given the date, you must send a Notice of Hearing to your spouse to officially notify him or her.

STEP 6 - Go to the court hearing date with the Judgment (bring 4 copies) and the Judgment Decree of Dissolution of Marriage. This form will most likely be signed by the Judge at the end of the hearing. You will then be able to file the form, and your divorce has now been completed in the State of Illinois.

 

Terms & Conditions

HowtoFileForDivorce.org provides information and Documents only.
This site is not a "lawyer referral service" and does not provide or participate in any legal representation.