How to File For Divorce in Florida
howtofilefordivorce.org
 
how to file for divorce in FL

- OFFICIAL -

HOW TO FILE FOR DIVORCE IN FLORIDA

- STEP BY STEP GUIDE -

STEP 1 - 2 ways to download the required Florida divorce papers:

Option A - BLANK FLORIDA DIVORCE PAPERS

Option B - HAVE DIVORCE PAPERS FILLED IN FOR YOU!

  • $299 Professional Service

STEP 2 - The Spouse that has decided to file for divorce must completely fill out the following forms and file it with the county court clerk's office where you reside:

  • Affidavit
  • Affidavit of Corroborating Witness
  • Certificate of Compliance with Mandatory Disclosure
  • Certificate of Service
  • Child Support Guidelines Worksheet
  • Financial Affidavit Short Form
  • Financial Affidavit Long Form
  • Marital Settlement Agreement for Dissolution of Marriage with Dependent or Minor Children
  • Marital Settlement Agreement for Dissolution of Marriage without Dependent or Minor Children
  • Notice of Social Security Number
  • Parenting Plan and Instructions
  • Petition For Dissolution of Marriage with Dependent or Minor Children
  • Petition for Dissolution of Marriage With No Minor Children
  • Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act

$408 filing fee

VIDEO TUTORIAL

 

REQUIREMENTS

  • Either party must be a resident for at least 6 months.
  • Reason for divorce must be either for 'broken marriage' or 'incurable insanity'. Insanity can be defined also as being incapacitated for at least 3 years.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE?

  • A divorce in Florida takes about of 4-6 months.

STEP 3 - You must now serve your Spouse using a private process server or the Sheriff's department all the above filed forms to your Spouse including the forms:
  • Answer, Waiver, and Request for Copy of Final Judgement of Dissolution of Marriage
  • Process Service Memorandum
  • Summons

Forms must be sent to Spouse within 20 days of your original filing.

 

*HAVE MINOR CHILDREN? - If so, you and your spouse will need to complete court approved Parental Education classes. The county court clerk's office will direct you to the appropriate classes to you and your Spouse to complete.

STEP 4 - After the 20 days from the initial submission of your petition to the county court clerk's office. You will need to contact the court clerk's office in order to schedule a court hearing. When you have received a court hearing date you will need to give notice to your Spouse via standard mail by sending him / her the Notice of Hearing.

STEP 5 - Go to your court hearing and bring with you the following form:

  • If you have minor children: Final Judgement of Dissolution With Dependent or Minor Children
  • If you do not have children: Final Judgement of Dissolution With No Minor Children

The court, upon successful court hearing, should complete the Judgement and your divorce is now finalized in the State of Florida.

 


 

Terms & Conditions

HowtoFileForDivorce.org provides information and Documents only.
This site is not a "lawyer referral service" and does not provide or participate in any legal representation.